Good and Bad Multimedia Stories

The first good multimedia story that I found was in the Arts section of The New York Times. The story is called A Bronx Film School Tale and although the story itself only includes photos and text to qualify it as a multimedia story, I consider it to be good. The story itself is well written and interesting so that alone brought me into the story but it was the three pictures and the links included in the story that really kept my interest. The complexity of the multimedia was not very intense but I still found it fairly engaging.

The second multimedia story that  I found, was one of the best that I have seen in quite a while. I found the story in the Technology section of The New York Times which is not normally a section that I read over. However, the title of the story, From Viral Video to Billboard 100, caught my attention.

The story alone is interesting but it is the pictures and the links to videos that boosted this story in my eyes. After reading the majority of the story, I was so interested that I had to stop mid-sentence to watch the video that the writer was discussing. It seems to me that The New York Times normally does a fairly good job at including decent multimedia in their stories, even if some of the topics are not that great.

The one multimedia story that I found to be of less quality was in my home town online newspaper, The Riverton Ranger. The story, Drowned Man’s Body Found, had one photo which was found on the paper’s homepage. When I linked to the entire story, there were no other photos or links included. Just reading the text alone became fairly monotonous so even though the subject was interesting, I stopped reading after a few paragraphs. Since the main focus of the newspaper is on their print version, I can understand why there was not as much effort put into the online story.

~ by adriennemorency on September 6, 2010.

One Response to “Good and Bad Multimedia Stories”

  1. You mentioned that your hometown’s newspaper puts more effort into its print edition. Do you think that it would attract a different demographic of readers (e.g., young people) if it were to put more resources into its online edition? Like you said, just reading text online is pretty boring.

Leave a comment